Blog

#worthremembering

Lovelies,

Thanks to the “On this day” Facebook feature, I was reminded of this piece of advice I wrote last year. I hope you enjoy.

July 1, 2015

I remember the first person (aside from family members) to take an interest in and encourage my writing was my 7th grade English teacher, Ms. Ruth. I’m not sure what there was to like about a 7th grader’s poetry, but she saw something in it and in me. I have thought of her, heard her voice cheering me on many times throughout the years. There have been so many more, like Ms. Ruth, since then and yet, I have struggled to believe in myself. In 34 years I’ve learned many lessons. Some good, some bad, some repeated more than once and reflecting on them now, this is what I have to share with you:

1. You do not choose the way you touch a person’s life nor do you choose what remains after you leave. Human beings are works of art and thus each person we meet sees us in a way no other can. Honor their sight and way of seeing.

2. Giving up is not always weak. Sometimes giving up is actually giving in and giving in is actually giving way. You follow? Learn to know the difference. What I’m saying is never give up, instead give way. Allow things to happen and they will, exactly as they were meant to.

3. Forgive yourself. Often. This is important. I’m still working on it.

4. Ask for help, but also ask how you can help.

5. Don’t jump too quickly at anything (or anyone), but quick enough that you don’t talk yourself out of something (or someone) that will be good for you.

6. Care for others, care about others, but don’t care-take other people’s feelings. Protect yourself from unnecessary and unclaimed baggage. When in doubt, get a second opinion.

7. Believe in miracles, in magic and the impossible.

I think I may have a few more lessons to add, but for now, this feels like a good list.

Be safe this holiday weekend!

xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

