Blog

Phase Yuck

I’ve recently entered the yuck! phase of being an indie author. The whole deal with being and succeeding as a self-published indie author relies heavily on your ability to market and promote yourself. As an introvert and someone who generally doesn’t like to call attention to herself or ask for help – this feels awful. I absolutely dread it, so much so, that I’ve really only been giving it about 70% effort (and that’s probably generous). The reality is I need to go at this thing about 120% to even get myself off of the ground. Okay, cool. I know that, but I’m not sure I know how to do it.

Thanks to my “job” as host of Writers Read, my net has widened, but I still feel like I am reaching the same group of people over and over and that group is just plain tired of my shit. Maybe I’m wrong. I don’t know. I am s-l-o-w-l-y gaining a following on TwitterFacebook and Instagram, but I don’t feel like I am using any of those platforms to their full potential.

Beginning today, that is going to change, it has to change. So, this is me apologizing in advance and letting you know that you may also enter your own Phase Yuck once you are incessantly bombarded with reminders about how my book is for sale and that I also have these beautiful posters for sale and that I have a launch event coming up and that I still REALLY need your public reviews via Goodreads, Amazon and/or your personal website.

I know there is a lot going on in the world right now and this may seem trivial, but this is my slice of the world. The slice I coveted as a child. The slice I kneaded and baked and cut myself.

Thank you all for being here with me, for hanging in there with me and for helping me keep on keeping on. Your support will never be forgotten.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

