Writing Prompts

Begin a 500-word piece with, “If I had the power to change something, I would change…”

If I had the power to change something, I would change the way the sun comes through my window in the morning and the way it brings with it obligation instead of joy, the way it ushers in the sound of traffic and stress. I would change the way my breath stops itself on the way to a moan as if afraid. I would change the way I count the distance you are from me rather than how far I have come from you, without you – I don’t even know you. If I had the power to change something, I would change the things I laugh at. I would laugh more. I would laugh until the whole world was laughing if it meant I had made a difference. I would change the order of days, the length of hours, and the moments in forever. I would change myself, but only a little and only enough so I could learn to love myself more, I would widen my eyes to my own beauty. I would love harder. If I had the power to change something, I would change the world’s priorities…I would give up on writing because I am worthless at it and can’t even complete a coherent, worthy 500-word prompt on what I would change without thinking about you and how really, I would change you. I would change the moment I first saw you and I would see you for what you would become and you would see me for what I would become and we would not have played out our tired roles as idiots in love and I would not love you still. I would change my ability to endure; my mental imbalance which causes me to believe that there is still hope for me. I would change my need to be loved; my humanness into something more useful yet I don’t know what that would be. I would change the length of time it will take me to figure that out. If I had the power to change something, I would change the channel. I would take a bat to the t.v. for the shit I have learned to enjoy watching. I would pick up a book and remember words and how once upon a time they were all that mattered to me and I used to be careful with them, intentional, not lazy. Now, I am lazy. I’m lazy with words and friends and family and parenting and my job. I am lazy with myself. If I had the power to change something, I would change the fucking word count. I have lost all ambition to even complete this, that’s how quickly my interest is lost these days…454 words is all it takes and BOOM! GONE! Damn it, I think my horoscope was right. There have been demons all day and I’ve been dealing with them quietly and didn’t really notice until now. If I had the power to change something, I wouldn’t change a thing.

2010

Leave a Reply

