Blog

Back to Paper – 5.26.15

I’ve decided that I need to write on paper again.  The computer allows me to be too critical too soon.  My inner voice often takes over a piece and with a simple keystroke, a whole sentence (often much more) is gone.  The way we use technology often lacks reflection.

I used to carry a notebook everywhere I went – instead of wishing I could undo my last edit before my last save – I was uncrinkling balls of paper, trying to smooth their edges again.  My basement has boxes full of notebooks and crinkled sheets of paper.  Perhaps I need to revisit those pages, go back to the days when all I seemed to do was feel and live and write instead of fret and worry and stress.  Perhaps I need to remind my inner voice that I know what I’m doing.  Perhaps I need to remind myself that I know what I’m doing.

Leave a Reply

