Uncategorized

Passing

I see you sometimes
passing me on the road
and you do not look my way.
My instinct is to follow
until I realize that
is all I ever do,
all I have ever done.

I have followed you around
for years, from state to state
and across continents.
I have been there by your side
in bars and dark rooms
when the moon was high
and love was hidden.
I have been there in whispers
and in the stars
and all the times you couldn’t
look yourself in the eyes.

I have been there.
I have been here,
patiently waiting
for you to see that
my light is still on
and my door is still open
and my heart still holds hope
and I know that is not enough.

Leave a Reply

