Uncategorized

If You Were Here

If you were here I would have
nothing to say.
I would only find ways
to urge you to leave
because over these years,
for which you have been gone,
I have become this woman
with a girl’s sense of reason
and a fool’s logic.

If you were here
and I could see your face
I would punch you in the eye
and laugh as it swelled
because it would happen too quickly
for you to react.
You would simply feel the impact
lose your breath, and recoil.
Just as I did with your death.

My whole being stripped,
my sense of self reduced
to pieces of paper
and ghost whispering,
to counting the years
for so long that I can
almost forget what I am
trying to remember.

Leave a Reply

