Uncategorized

For you (Kev)

Sometimes, at night,
I press my ear to the silence
and I swear I can hear you breathing.
I pull your memory close and I take it all in,
but there is nothing to hold me up,
no one to wipe away the tears.
I’ve got fistfuls of forever and no one to share them with,
mountains of words for weak men too afraid to climb
and I’ve got this heart…beating – broken and beating,
clinging to the realization that some loves
are lost before you notice it was love at all.
I miss you when I wake up.
I miss you while I sip coffee and smoke cigarettes.
I still go to the coffee shop expecting
you to be there and when you’re not,
I go outside to sit on the bench we used to share
and I miss you. I miss you at night,
when I am alone with my thoughts
and I press my ear to the silence and
I swear I can hear you breathing
and then you whisper that you are still here.

Leave a Reply

