Poetry

contemplating ways to disappear

I still remember that day
I set my backpack on a chicken bone
at the bus stop,
maybe you do too,
but honestly I don’t
remember much about you.
I’ve just fumbled through the days
placing columns upon the page
acting as though
I have something to say
the days have grown shorter and darker
maybe I have too
and I guess I’m still
waiting for my attitude
to dim
waiting for the sun to shine
in a slant
I can understand
I am contemplating
ways to disappear
but I continue
to come up
empty handed
so I’ll continue to hang around
reliving my memories
inside my head
and I’ll smile
and I’ll play nice
because I won’t
get the chance to make
these mistakes twice

2004

Leave a Reply

